Very little is known about the relationship between Abeokuta Sports Club and Counter Part Club, which existed at Imo in Abeokuta. One thing that is certain is that Tennis started from the Club based in Imo area of the town and that most of the pioneer players at Abeokuta Sports Club were once its able–bodied pickers.

The creation of Ogun State in 1976 when most members of Abeokuta Sports Club transferred to Abeokuta swelled up the membership in the Tennis Section. Among the early member were late Coach Adeoye, J. O. Adesina, Late Akinbawo and a number of other well – groomed players who we can now regard as pioneers of the game of Tennis in Abeokuta Sports Club. It was this group that jointly with Ogun State Lawn Association organized the Ogun Green Courts which later developed to an international circuit.

Then came 1984, when that Section enjoyed a boost of players from all over the country. We had men like retired Justice O. Odunlami O.F.R., Justice Demola Bakre, Wale Adesina, Mr. Ajibawo, Mr. Ben, Mr. Adeyemi and Mr. Sam Jimoh. The playing time was such that anyone who came at half past four in the evening could only hope to be in the second game as all the chance for the first game would already have been filled up.

The Section was involved in many tournaments with other clubs like Ijebu–Ode Club on home and away basis, then Lagos Country Club, Ikeja on a yearly home and away basis. During the aforementioned period of time, the Captain played the role of general over-seer but in 1986, the Section started thinking of having a Chairman with his Executive Officers to run the affairs of the Section. The first Chairman to be elected was Alhaji M. A. Baruwa followed by Engr. Anjorin in whose time the Tennis House was launched. The activities of the Section were expanded, to include social inter-reactions on monthly basis. There was a day set aside for the social interaction of members outside the Tennis Section.

During this period, the Section was able to role out a pamphlet of Rules and Regulations strictly to conform with the guidelines set up by the Club. These Rules and Regulations guide the Chairman and the Executives in the areas of disciple and control. Mr. Akinbode, Arch. Tokunbo Fowode, TPL. Demola Bajejo, J. Oklobia and the incumbent, Engr. O. S. Famuyiwa have been Chairmen of the Section to date.



Although the Section is thankful to the Club and the State Government for all the efforts they made at refurbishing the Tennis Court, only the insiders understand the problems we are still facing regarding the Court. The existing Court I is always water-filled which makes it useless for any serious tennis game and the same Court I has its peculiar deficiencies.

The lighting of the Court constitutes another problem coupled with the non- availability of a standby generator. The need for a scaffold is also very important, as the electrician called to change burnt–out bulbs as a result of power fluctuation are faced with problems of getting to the lighting points.

The Tennis Section joins other members in congratulating the Club on the centenary celebration.